LibGuides: Subject Guide: Nursing: Home

Home

The LeDoux Library main catalog

Find books, print journals, and media.

For more information, ask a librarian or your instructor.

Online Reference Books

Nursing Titles

Dictionary of Nursing Theory and Research
This classic dictionary for understanding traditional and new concepts in nursing theory and research encompasses the considerable changes that have occurred in the clinical health sciences since the previous edition was published. It includes updates and new references for entries from the previous edition, and information related to developing areas of research and practice. New content that reflects nursing priorities in research and theory development in the current interprofessional health care environment is featured. This book remains an invaluable reference for nursing students, researchers, theoreticians, and scholars.
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research
Named a "Choice Outstanding Academic Title" for 2007 and an "AJN Book of the Year", The award-winning Encyclopedia of Nursing Research, now in its third edition, is the comprehensive resource for tracking developments in the field. With over 20 new areas of research, and meticulous updates of original entries, the encyclopedia presents key terms and concepts and their application to practice.
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health
This fully updated third edition of this award-winning title covers topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment
Key Concepts in Nursing
Provides a much needed guide to the central topics and debates which shape nursing theory, policy and contemporary practice.
Nursing Leadership
A single comprehensive reference for nursing leaders, leadership organizations, nursing clinicians, and educators, Nursing Leadership is the only compendium of nursing terminology in existence. Written by eminent nursing professionals, it provides descriptions of prominent individuals in nursing, information regarding nine leadership-related topics, and current trends in nurse leadership.

Encyclopedias

Epilepsy A to Z: A Concise Encyclopedia
Epilepsy A-Z is a unique compendium that provides a "bullet" of epilepsy-related information that is ideal for quick and easy reference
The Encyclopedia of Aging
The Encyclopedia of Aging has proven to be the definitive resource for scholars and students across the burgeoning and increasingly interdisciplinary fields of gerontology and geriatrics.
The Encyclopedia of Elder Care
The Encyclopedia of Elder Care is a state-of-the-art resource featuring nearly 300 articles. Topics include acute and chronic disease, home care including family-based care provisions, nursing home care, rehabilitation, health promotion, disease prevention, education, case management, social services, assisted living, advance directives, palliative care, and much more.
The Encyclopedia of Neuropsychological Disorders
This book serves as an A-Z reference that addresses the neuropsychological aspects of 300 neurological, neuropsychiatric, and neuromedical disorders.
The International Encyclopedia of Depression
Experts from around the globe have been selected to present interdisciplinary coverage of all the essential issues related to depression, including use of medication, treatment therapies and models, symptoms of Depression, related disorders, and more. Entries are conveniently organized into subcategories in order to provide the most in-depth coverage of each subject.

Women's Health

The New Harvard Guide to Women's Health by Karen J. Carlson, Stephanie A. Eisenstat, and Terra Ziporyn
This A to Z reference is a definitive resource, praised especially for its coverage of topics not previously considered under the umbrella of women's health.
Encyclopedia of Women's Health by Sana Loue and Martha Sajatovic
Informed by current health issues and health-care realities, offers readers practical information, historical aspects, and future directions, all meticulously researched and conveniently presented.
Dr. Susan Love’s Breast Book
Dr. Susan Loves Breast Book has long been the bible for the newly diagnosed. In this completely revised fifth edition, it also becomes a guide for those at risk of getting breast cancer, survivors interested in the consequences of their treatment, and anyone who wants to understand the new research about how the local environment influences the manifestations and treatments of many different kinds of breast cancer.
Women's Health Care in Advanced Practice Nursing
This book is the ideal tool to help graduate level nursing students expand their understanding of women's health care and wellness issues.

Medical Dictionaries

American Heritage Medical Dictionary
A comprehensive reference that reflects the most recent developments in medicine and health care delivery. Clear, concise definitions are included, covering diseases and conditions, treatments, and microorganisms. Hundreds of entries for commonly prescribed and over-the-counter medications are also featured.
Black's Medical Dictionary, 42nd Edition
A reference for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists.
Collins Dictionary of Medicine
Contains entries on the theory and practice of medicine, including pharmacology, virology, psychiatry and dentistry. Also includes terminology relevant to nursing, radiography, orthoptics, laboratory and operating theatre technology, forensic and social medicine, and public health administration.
Dictionary of Medical Terms
A well-known reference guide, Barron's Dictionary of Medical Terms has been valued, used, and highly praised by medical instructors, student nurses, and others in the healthcare professions.
Webster's New World™ Medical Dictionary
An invaluable resource that will help you make sense of confusing medical jargon, prepare for a doctor visit, or research treatment options. Packed with information about diseases, treatments, and medicines. Includes appendices on vitamins and frequently used anatomical terms. Draws information from dozens of medical specialists ranging from pediatrics to pathology.

Medicine

Cambridge Handbook of Psychology, Health and Medicine
Offers an entirely up-to-date, comprehensive, accessible, one-stop resource for clinical psychologists, mental health professionals and specialists in health-related matters.
Cambridge Historical Dictionary of Disease by Kenneth F. Kiple
An interdisciplinary history of medicine and human disease.
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology: Health and Illness in the World's Cultures
Describes the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures and provides an overview of important topics in medical anthropology.
Key Concepts in Public Health
Identifies key concepts used across the discipline of public health in order to give the reader a broad perspective of the core topics relevant to training and practice.
SAGE Key Concepts Series: Key Concepts in Health Studies
Key Concepts in Health Studies provides a much needed guide to the central concepts used across the subject, and offers the reader a comprehensive overview of the core topics, theories and debates. Drawing together the fundamentals within the disciplines of health, nursing, and social policy this book is an ideal text both for students studying health in a range of academic fields, and for health and social care practitioners.

Want some help?

Dr. Patricia Brown

Email Me

Anatomy and Physiology

Human Body Book: An Illustrated Guide to Its Structure, Function and Disorders
Revealing and detailing all aspects of the body, from the secrets of DNA to the functions of every major body system, this all-in-one encyclopedic guide is packed with accessible health and medical information that is ideal for students, health professionals, or anyone who wants to learn more about the human body.
Brain Book: An illustrated guide to its structure, function and disorders
A complete guide to the one organ in the body that makes each of us what we are - unique individuals.
Encyclopedia of the Human Brain
A single source for information on the human brain covering anatomy, physiology, neuropsychology, clinical neurology, neuropharmacology, evolutionary biology, genetics, and behavioral science.

Overview

Nursing Basics

Health Care: Topic Page
Health care refers to services provided by medical professionals aimed at promoting physical and mental welfare, through the prevention, treatment, and management of illness
Medicine: Topic Page
Modern medicine emerged in the nineteenth century, when the development of the germ theory of disease, the discovery of anesthesia to control the pain of surgery, and improved sanitation began to curb the horrors of infectious diseases.
Nursing: Topic Page
Nurses are the largest single group of staff working in the health service.
Public Health: Topic Page
Field of medicine and hygiene dealing with the prevention of disease and the promotion of health by government agencies
Nursing ethics: Topic Page
Nursing is a discipline that is critical to the health and welfare of all nations and the backbone of any health care system. Without a sufficient supply of nurses to care for the public’s needs, the public’s health is at risk.
Vital Signs: Topic Page
Vital signs, by definition, are a person’s temperature, pulse, respiration rate, and blood pressure (BP). These signs reflect the status of a person’s circulatory, respiratory, neurological, and endocrine functions.
Hospital: Topic Page
Hospitals are the centerpiece of U.S. healthcare. Hospitals are multipurpose healthcare institutions. They provide a place for physicians and other clinicians to treat patients, for special diagnostic and treatment services, and for emergency care services.
Nursing Homes: Topic Page
The nursing home industry remains an important part of the health care continuum, providing housing and health care services to more than 1.5 million older adults in the United States

Medical and Nursing Organisations

American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN)
From Nursing leadership Founded in 1969, the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) is the national voice for baccalaureate and higher degree programs in nursing.
American Nurses Association (ANA)
From The Encyclopedia of Elder Care
the only full-service professional organization representing the interests of the nation's 3.1 million registered nurses through its constituent and state nurses associations, and its organizational affiliates
National Health Service (NHS)
From Collins Dictionary of sociology The system of health care provided for all citizens by the UK government.
Nursing Organizations Alliance
From Nursing leadership The Nursing Organizations Alliance, also known as The Alliance, was created on November 17, 2001, with the merger of the National Federation for Specialty Nursing Organizations and the Nursing Organizations Liaison Forum
Royal College of Nursing (RCN)
From Collins Dictionary of businessThe main professional body for nursing staff in the UK

Nursing and Medical Specialties

Advanced Practice Registered Nurses
From Nursing leadership Advanced practice registered nurses (APRNs) are registered nurses (RNs) with advanced educational and clinical preparation. APRNs include clinical nurse specialists (CNSs), certified registered nurse anesthetists (CRNAs), certified nurse–midwives (CNMs), and nurse practitioners (NPs)
Emergency Nursing
From Encyclopedia of nursing research As a specialty within the nursing profession, emergency nursing encompasses care of individuals across the life span, seeking help for perceived or actual physical or emotional alterations of health that require emergent or nonemergent interventions
Midwife
From Webster's new world Medical Dictionary
A trained person who assists women during childbirth. Many midwives also provide prenatal care for pregnant women, birth education for women and their partners, and care for mothers and newborn babies after the birth.
Nurse Anesthetist
From The Gale encyclopedia of nursing and Allied Health
Nurse anesthetists, or certified registered nurse anesthetists (CRNAs), are advanced practice registered nurses with specialized graduate level education, training, and certification in anesthesiology.
Nurse Practitioner
From Encyclopedia of Women's Health Broadly defined, an NP is an advanced practice registered nurse who has attained a formal NP education, primarily at the master's degree level.
Physician Assistant
From The Columbia Encyclopedia
Health-care professional who provides patient services ranging from taking medical histories and doing physical examinations to performing minor surgical procedures
Registered Nurse
From Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health
Registered nurses, or RNs, are health care professionals who work as part of health care teams to promote health and prevent and treat disease.
Geriatrics: Topic Page
The branch of medicine concerned with conditions and diseases of the aged.
Palliative Care
From Encyclopedia of nursing research The goal of palliative care is to prevent and relieve suffering and to support the best possible quality of life for patients and their families, regardless of the stage of the disease or the need for other therapies.

Want some help?

Dr. Patricia Brown

Email Me

History

Notable Nurses

Florence Nightingale (1820-1910): Topic Page
During her parents' 3-year honeymoon in Europe, Florence Nightingale was born on May 12, 1820, in Florence, Italy. She was named after her birthplace.
Edith Cavell (1865-1915)
From The Palgrave MacMillan Dictionary of women's biography English nurse. The daughter of a clergyman, Edith worked as a governess then trained as a nurse, working through a typhoid epidemic before graduating at the London Hospital.
Clara Barton (1821-1912): Topic Page
Civil War Nurse, Founder of the American Red Cross. Clara Barton was the most famous of many women who worked heroically to provide care and comfort to wounded Civil War soldiers. In so doing, she and others like her raised the nation’s standards for the care of its fallen soldiers.
Mary Eiza Mahoney (1845–1926),
From Notable American Women: 1607-1950 Was born in Roxbury, Mass., near Boston, the eldest of three children of Charles and Mary Jane (Stewart) Mahoney, who had migrated to Massachusetts from North Carolina. Little is known of her life before her enrollment, on Mar. 23, 1878, in the nursing school of the New England Hospital for Women and Children in Boston.
Mary Seacole (1805-1881)
From Encyclopedia of women social reformers The achievements of the Jamaican Creole woman Mary Seacole, who ignored the indifference of British War Office bureaucracy to travel to the Crimea to pioneer the nursing of the sick and wounded during the war of 1854–1856 at her own expense, have been all too often eclipsed by the work of her more eminent and influential contemporary, Florence Nightingale
Margaret Higgins Sanger (1879-1966): Topic Page
Margaret Sanger, feminist and activist, has been identified as the founder of the birth control movement. Sanger believed that women needed accurate information and knowledge about their own bodies.
Dorothea Dix (1802–1887): Topic Page
Dorothea Dix was a renowned social reformer and vocal advocate for the humane treatment of people with psychiatric disabilities.
Ethel (Gordon) Fenwick (1857-1947)
From The Palgrave MacMillan Dictionary of women's biography English nurse and politician. Ethel Manson’s father was a doctor who died when she was three; her stepfather was an MP.
Linda Richards (1841-1930)
From Notable American women: 1607-1950 Pioneer nursing educator

General History

Nursing
From The Companion to British History, Routledge Nursing was originally in the hands of monastic orders, and declined into disrepute after their dissolution
History of Nursing Research
From Encyclopedia of Nursing Research The first public health policy act was signed on July 16, 1798, by President John Adams.
The History of Medicine
From The Cambridge Dictionary of scientists The learned Western medical tradition traces its origin to the works of a mysterious Greek physician, Hippocrates.
The Historical Development of Public Health
From Key Concepts in Public Health
The association between human disease and the growth of centres of population has long been observed and the concept of action at a community or population level to influence health is not new;

Social Reformers

Want some help?

Dr. Patricia Brown

Email Me

Human Anatomy

Diagrams - Human Anatomy

Skeleton: Topic Page
Framework of bones that supports and gives form to the body, protects its internal organs, and provides anchorage points for its muscles. It is composed of about 200 bones.
Muscles
From The Human Body Book
Muscles are the body’s “flesh”. They bulge and ripple just under the skin, and are arranged in criss-crossing layers down to the bones. Their job is to contract and pull the bones to which they are anchored. Rarely working alone, they usually contract in groups, moving bones at accurate angles and by precise distances.
Heart
From The Human Body BookThe heart is a powerful organ about the size of a clenched fist. Located just to the left of centre in between the lungs, it operates as two coordinated pumps that send blood around the body.
Brain
From The Human Body Book
he brain, in conjunction with the spinal cord, regulates both non-conscious processes and coordinates most voluntary movement. Furthermore, the brain is the site of consciousness, allowing humans to think and learn.
Respiratory Anatomy
From The Human Body Book
The respiratory system, in close conjunction with the circulatory system, is responsible for supplying all body cells with essential oxygen and removing potentially harmful carbon dioxide from the body.
Digestive Anatomy
From The Human Body Book
The digestive system consists of a lonThe digestive system consists of a long passageway, known as the alimentary canal or digestive tract, and associated organs, including the liver, gallbladder, and pancreas.

Sensory Organs

Ear: Topic Page
Organ of hearing and equilibrium. The human ear consists of outer, middle, and inner parts.
Eye: Topic Page
Organ of vision and light perception. In humans the eye is of the camera type, with an iris diaphragm and variable focusing, or accommodation.
Nose
From the The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia with Atlas and Weather Guide

The organs of smell are confined to a small area in the roof of the nasal cavity. The olfactory cells are stimulated when certain molecules reach them.
Skin: Topic Page
The flexible tissue (integument) enclosing the body of vertebrate animals. In humans and other mammals, the skin operates a complex organ of numerous structures (sometimes called the integumentary system) serving vital protective and metabolic functions.
Tongue
From Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary

A freely movable muscular organ that lies partly in the floor of the mouth and partly in the pharynx. It is the organ of taste and contributes also to chewing, swallowing, and speech.

Systems

Circulatory System: Topic Page
System of vessels in an animal's body that transports essential substances (blood or other circulatory fluid) to and from the different parts of the body.
Digestive System: Topic Page
In the body, all the organs and tissues involved in the digestion of food.
Endocrine System: Topic Page
Body control system composed of a group of glands that maintain a stable internal environment by producing chemical regulatory substances called hormones.
Immune System: Topic Page
The adaptable system of body defenses centers on specialized white blood cells called lymphocytes. These respond to invasion by varied microorganisms.
Lymphatic System: Topic Page
Network of vessels carrying lymph, or tissue-cleansing fluid, from the tissues into the veins of the circulatory system. The lymphatic system functions along with the circulatory system in absorbing nutrients from the small intestines.
Muscular System
From The human body book: An illustrated guide to its structure, function and disorders
Muscle tissue creates bodily movements and it also powers internal processes, from the heartbeat and the movement of food through the intestines to the adjustment of artery diameter and focusing the eye.
Nervous System: Topic Page
Network of specialized tissue that controls actions and reactions of the body and its adjustment to the environment.
Reproductive System: Topic Page
In animals, the anatomical organs concerned with production of offspring.
Respiratory System
From Britannica Concise EncyclopediaOrgan system involved in respiration. In humans, the diaphragm and, to a lesser extent, the muscles between the ribs generate a pumping action, moving air in and out of the lungs through a system of pipes (conducting airways), divided into upper and lower airway systems.
Urinary System: Topic Page
Group of organs of the body concerned with excretion of urine, that is, water and the waste products of metabolism.

Organs

Bone Marrow: Topic Page
Soft tissue filling the spongy interiors of animal bones. Red marrow is the principal organ that forms blood cells in mammals, including humans. As the skeleton matures, fat-storing yellow marrow displaces red marrow in the shafts of the long bones of the limbs.
Brain: Topic Page
The supervisory center of the nervous system in all vertebrates.
Heart: Topic Page
Muscular organ that rhythmically contracts to force blood around the body of an animal with a circulatory system.
Intestine: Topic Page
Muscular hoselike portion of the gastrointestinal tract extending from the lower end of the stomach (pylorus) to the anal opening.
Kidney: Topic Page
Either of a pair of organs at the back of the abdomen whose function is the removal of waste pro-ducts from the blood, and the excretion of such compounds from the body, usually in the form of urine.
Liver: Topic Page
Largest glandular organ of the body, weighing about 3 lb (1.36 kg).
Lung: Topic Page
In mammals, large cavity of the body, used for gas exchange.
Pancreas: Topic Page
Glandular organ that secretes digestive enzymes and hormones.
Stomach: Topic Page
Saclike dilation in the gastrointestinal tract between the esophagus and the intestines , forming an organ of digestion.
Spleen
From Black's Medical Dictionary
An organ deeply placed in the abdomen and a major constituent of the RETICULO-ENDOTHELIAL SYSTEM.

Want some help?

Dr. Patricia Brown

Email Me

Diseases and Disorders

Communicable Diseases

Cholera: Topic Page
Disease caused by infection with various strains of the bacillus Vibrio cholerae, transmitted in contaminated water and characterized by violent diarrhoea and vomiting. It is prevalent in many tropical areas.
Dysentary: Topic Page
Inflammation of the intestine characterized by the frequent passage of feces, usually with blood and mucus.
Hepatitis: Topic Page
Inflammation of the liver. There are many types of hepatitis. Causes include viruses, toxic chemicals, alcohol consumption, parasites and bacteria, and certain drugs.
HIV (Viruses): Topic Page
Infection with the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) leads to a progressive destruction of the human immune system.
Influenza: Topic Page
Influenza or flu, acute, highly contagious disease caused by a virus; formerly known as the grippe. There are three types of the virus, designated A, B, and C, but only types A and B cause more serious contagious infections.
Malaria: Topic Page
A parasitic disease caused by four species of PLASMODIUM: P. falciparum, P. vivax, P. ovale, and P. malariae.
Meningitis: Topic Page
Inflammation of the meninges (membranes) surrounding the brain, caused by bacterial or viral infection. Bacterial meningitis, though treatable by antibiotics, is the more serious threat. Diagnosis is by lumbar puncture.
Poliomyelitis: Topic Page
Polio, or infantile paralysis, acute viral infection, mainly of children but also affecting older persons.
Pneumonia: Topic Page
Acute infection of one or both lungs that can be caused by a bacterium, usually Streptococcus pneumoniae (also called pneumococcus; see streptococcus), or by a virus, fungus, or other organism.
Sexually Transmitted Disease (STD): Topic Page
Sexually transmitted disease (STD) or venereal disease, term for infections acquired mainly through sexual contact.
Smallpox: Topic Page
Acute, highly contagious disease causing a high fever and successive stages of severe skin eruptions. The disease dates from the time of ancient Egypt or before.
Tuberculosis: Topic Page
Tuberculosis results form infection with Mycobacterium tuberculosis. The lungs are the site most often affected, but most organs in the body can be involved in tuberculosis.
Whooping Cough: Topic Page
Whooping cough or pertussis, highly communicable infectious disease caused by the bacterium Bordetella pertussis.
Yellow Fever: Topic Page
Acute infectious disease endemic in tropical Africa and many areas of South America.

Mental & Neurological Disorders

Alcoholism: Topic Page
Disease characterized by impaired control over the consumption of alcoholic beverages.
Anorexia: Topic Page
Lack of desire to eat, or refusal to eat, especially the pathological condition of anorexia nervosa, most often found in adolescent girls and young women.
Anxiety: Topic Page
Anxiety is an unpleasant affect accompanied by a myriad of physiologic manifestations (quickened heart beat, gastrointestinal distress, ‘butterflies’ and diarrhoea, a tightening in the chest, tremulousness, sweating, muscle tension) as well as psychological manifestations (a sense of dread and impending danger, of helplessness, of insecurity and uncertainty).
Autism: Topic Page
Autism, a condition of neurodevelopment, is more common in males, with onset typically in infancy. It is diagnosed when a child or adult has abnormalities in a ‘triad’ of behavioral domains: social development, communication, and repetitive behavior / obsessive interests.
Bipolar Disorder: Topic Page
Any of several psychological disorders of mood characterized usually by alternating episodes of depression and mania — called also manic depression, manic-depressive illness.
Depression: Topic Page
Disorder best defined as a collection of psychological symptoms including sadness; unhappy thoughts characterized by worry, poor self-image, self-blame, guilt and low self-confidence; downbeat views on the future; and a feeling of hopelessness.
Dissociative Identity Disorder: Topic Page
Dissociative identity disorder (DID) has been one of the most controversial diagnostic categories in the history of psychiatry.
Epilepsy: Topic Page
A chronic disorder of cerebral function characterized by periodic convulsive seizures.
Hysteria: Topic Page
In psychology, a disorder commonly known today as conversion disorder, in which a psychological conflict is converted into a bodily disturbance.
Neuroses: Topic Page
In psychiatry, a broad category of psychological disturbance, encompassing various mild forms of mental disorder.
Obsessive-compulsive disorder
Obsessive compulsive disorder is defined in the DSM-IV as the presence of either obsessions or compulsions (or both). Obsessions are defined as recurrent and persistent thoughts, impulses or images that are experienced as intrusive and inappropriate and that cause marked anxiety or distress.
Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder: Topic Page
(PTSD), mental disorder that follows an occurrence of extreme psychological stress, such as that encountered in war or resulting from violence, childhood abuse, sexual abuse, or serious accident.
Psychosis: Topic Page
In psychiatry, a broad category of mental disorder encompassing the most serious emotional disturbances, often rendering the individual incapable of staying in contact with reality.
Schizophrenia: Topic Page
Group of severe mental disorders characterized by reality distortions resulting in unusual thought patterns and behaviors.
Tourette Syndrome
From the Encyclopedia of Special Education
Tourette syndrome is a child-onset neurological disorder characterized by involuntary movements or vocalizations, otherwise known as tics, and occurs in approximately .04 to .4 percent of the population.

Physical Diseases and Conditions

AIDS: Topic Page
AIDS (acquired immunodeficiency syndrome) is a chronic, life-threatening disease that is caused by the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV).
Alzheimer's Disease: Topic Page
Common manifestation of dementia , thought to afflict 1 in 20 people over 65.
Anemia: Topic Page
Condition in which the concentration of hemoglobin in the circulating blood is below normal.
Angina pectoris: Topic Page
Condition characterized by chest pain that occurs when the muscles of the heart receive an insufficient supply of oxygen. This results when the arteries that supply the heart muscle with oxygenated blood are narrowed by arteriosclerosis.
Arteriosclerosis: Topic Page
General term for a condition characterized by thickening, hardening, and loss of elasticity of the walls of the blood vessels.
Asthma: Topic Page
Chronic condition characterized by difficulty in breathing due to spasm of the bronchi (air passages) in the lungs.
Blindness: Topic Page
Partial or complete loss of sight. Blindness may be caused by injury, by lesions of the brain or optic nerve, by disease of the cornea or retina, by pathological changes originating in systemic disorders (e.g., diabetes) and by cataract, glaucoma, or retinal detachment.
Cancer: Topic Page
Group of diseases characterized by abnormal proliferation of cells.
Cardiovascular Disease: Topic Page
Any of several abnormalities of the heart and its function in maintaining blood circulation.
Cirrhosis: Topic Page
Degeneration of tissue in an organ resulting in fibrosis, with nodule and scar formation.
Color Blindness: Topic Page
Visual defect resulting in the inability to distinguish colors. About 8% of men and 0.5% of women experience some difficulty in color perception.
Coronary Artery Disease: Topic Page
condition that results when the coronary arteries are narrowed or occluded, most commonly by atherosclerotic deposits of fibrous and fatty tissue.
Diabetes: Topic Page
Diabetes mellitus, often referred to simply as diabetes, is not a single disease but a group of metabolic disorders characterized by hyperglycemia (elevated blood glucose) resulting from defects in insulin secretion, insulin action, or both.
Edema: Topic Page
Abnormal accumulation of fluid in the body tissues or in the body cavities causing swelling or distention of the affected parts.
Emphysema: Topic Page
Pathological or physiological enlargement or overdistention of the air sacs of the lungs. A major cause of pulmonary insufficiency in chronic cigarette smokers, emphysema is a progressive disease that commonly occurs in conjunction with chronic bronchitis.
Glaucoma: Topic Page
Ocular disorder characterized by pressure within the eyeball caused by an excessive amount of aqueous humor (the fluid substance filling the eyeball).
Hypertension: Topic Page
The term for high BLOOD PRESSURE (raised pressure of the circulating blood).
Multiple Sclerosis: Topic Page
Multiple sclerosis (MS) is a disease of the central nervous system characterized by recurring episodes of neurological disturbance.
Obesity: Topic Page
Condition resulting from excessive storage of fat in the body.
Osteoporosis: Topic Page
A disease, most commonly of post-menopausal women, in which the bones become porous, brittle and liable to fracture, owing to the loss of calcium from the bone substance.
Rheumatoid Arthritis: Topic Page
A form of arthritis, particularly common in women, that causes pain, swelling, stiffness and deformity of the joints, especially of the fingers, wrists, ankles, feet or hips.

Want some help?

Dr. Patricia Brown

Email Me