Subject Guide: Psychology: Books

Clearly explaining more than 100 groundbreaking ideas in the field, The Psychology Book uses accessible text and easy-to-follow graphics and illustrations to explain the complex theoretical and experimental foundations of psychology.

Provides biographical information and critical analysis of the influences and reception of people who have made a significant contribution to the field of psychology.

The dictionary contains terms covering the origination, development, and evolution of various psychological concepts, as well as the historical definition, analysis, and criticisms of psychological concepts.

Presents entries grouped into 8 thematic topic areas, and on a range of levels from brief definitions to more substantial discussions which allow the reader to obtain a fuller grasp of important terms and concepts.

An authoritative publication that reviews and evaluates the numerous applications of professional psychology.

Aims to provide the reader with a comprehensive understanding of the key issues, theories, models, and methods in contemporary health psychology.

Contributes to understanding the classic scholars, the classic studies, and the subsequent generations of people and ideas that have come to define the broad discipline that is psychology.

Provides comprehensive coverage of all aspects of psychology, from Acquired Drives to Z-score, from conduct disorders to shamanism.

This updated edition explores the latest developments in psychology, psychiatry and related fields, including new material on neuroscience and social psychology.

This book is a definitive reference source for the growing, increasingly more important, and interdisciplinary field of computational cognitive modeling, that is, computational psychology.

Provides a comprehensive survey of the exciting field of consciousness.

A valuable reference resource dedicated to improving our understanding of the economic mind and economic behaviour.

Offers an entirely up-to-date, comprehensive, accessible, one-stop resource for clinical psychologists, mental health professionals and specialists in health-related matters.

An international overview of the state of our contemporary knowledge in sociocultural psychology - as a discipline located at the crossroads between the natural and social sciences and the humanities.

Entries (of between 500 and 1500 words) on key terms and concepts in forensic psychology arranged alphabetically.

Contains authoritative entries on all the most important authors, practitioners, concepts, movements, schools, debates and controversies in psychoanalysis and its offspring, past and present.

Captures current thinking about the workings of the mind and brain, focusing on problems that are as old as recorded history, but reflecting new approaches and techniques that have emerged since the 1980s.

Encompasses a summary of major research and scientific thought regarding the nature of consciousness, the neural circuitry involved, how the brain, body, and world interact, and our understanding of subjective states.

The concise and authoritative entries have been selected by experienced teachers and researchers; each one defines, explains and develops a key topic in sport psychology acting as a springboard for further reading and debate.

Provides professionals with current, practical, and empirically based information to guide their work in forensic settings.

This book serves as a guide to the principal concepts currently in use in Developmental Psychology and is perfect for courses in child development or developmental psychology.