DMS: Home

Purdue offers a comprehensive citation guide for APA formatting, including how to structure your paper and cite sources of various types.

The Society of Diagnostic Medical Sonography (SDMS) was founded in 1970 to promote, advance, and educate its members and the medical community in the science of diagnostic medical sonography. The SDMS ​is a network of sonographers practicing in all specialty areas, sonography students, educators, physicians, nurses, and other healthcare providers who practice or have an interest in diagnostic medical sonography.

Ultrasound Focused CME for Physicians and Sonographers

The number one goal in diagnostic sonography is accuracy.

Compassion, consistency, and precision are the key qualities in a successful sonographer.

Medical sonographers need to have a bachelor's degree and a certification in their specialty area. Continuing credits are required every year to remain certified.

Mathers highly recommends shadowing a sonographer before deciding to enter the field. A strong science and anatomy knowledge base is crucial in the field.

Multi-disciplinary, comprehensive, scholarly, full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,000 journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

Quick lessons, pamphlets, book sections, evidence-based care sheets, and other resources for nurses or nursing students.

Used for dissertations and nursing. If you want only one or the other, click on "Databases Selected" to search only the ones you check off.

Additional healthcare databases can be found under the "EBSCO" heading by selecting "Publication Finder" and then "Browse Databases"

Databases of note include:

Biomedical Index

CINAHL Complete

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

MEDLINE

Nursing & Allied Health Premium