Skip to main content

Arnold LeDoux Library: Research Guides and Resources

Find help here!

Electronic Reference

Career Information

Information about working and workers in Louisiana

Occupational Outlook Handbook--the official government manual

A data visualization tool--just type in a career.

Search the library catalog for books about your career or major.

 

Research Guides by Subject or Course

GENERAL ADVICE

   If you know very little about your topic, try a general encyclopedia (World Book or Britannica). For more detailed information, use a subject encyclopedia, such as the Encyclopedia of Banking and Finance, the Encyclopedia of Economics, or the one-volume  Business Ethics.  (Call numbers start with REF H).  To start online, look at Credo Reference. This collection of articles from over 580 reference books is sure to have something on almost any topic, and it can give you ideas for other words or phrases to use to help you find even more information.

  The EBSCO database Business Source Complete is your first stop for journal and magazine articles in the field of business. The library has some business periodicals in print, but use the database as an index to find individual articles. Lexis-Nexis Academic is a database of news and business information. U.S. government resources online are also useful, especially for statistics and forecasts.

Need help on an assignment? Ask your professor or the reference librarian.

BADM 2050

Research and Ethics general tutorial

English 1002 tutorial specific to literature papers

English 1002 career paper

A List of Reference Works for Literature Papers. Look for them in the REF PN through PZ subclasses on the first floor.

The MLA International Bibliography, an online index with some full-text article links, is the standard database for literature research.

Online sources to learn and use French.

---Pronunciator is a program free from the State Library of Louisiana through a local public library.

---Radio France International: Le journal en Français facile/ Daily news in French: www.rfi.fr

---TV5 Monde: Learn French online and browse a TV Channel in French: www.tv5.org

---On the open Internet: http://www.google.fr  or http://www.yahoo.fr  for searching in French; http://www.wordreference.com for simple translations.

GENERAL ADVICE

   If you know very little about your topic, use a general encyclopedia (World Book or Britannica). For more detailed information, use a subject encyclopedia such as the Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, Dictionary of Art, International Encyclopedia of the Social SciencesGrzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia, or the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.   To start online, look at Credo Reference. This collection of articles from over 580 reference books is sure to have something on almost any topic, and it can give you ideas for other words or phrases to use to help you find even more information.

SUBJECT GUIDES

American History

Art History

RESEARCH GUIDES

   EDCI 1000 research guide               EDCI   Prepare for the Praxis

   CJ research papers                          PHIL 1000 Research guide

   CMST research guide

  

 

For class papers, find articles through CINAHL, the Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Find it by looking under EBSCO. For general medical information: Medline Plus.  Details about APA format are in the box to the right of this one.

The Circulation desk has most NURS course textbooks available on reserve for in-library use.

SUBJECT GUIDES

Nursing

COURSE GUIDES

ALLH 1000 article review assignment help.

NURS 1000 ethics paper tutorial. For an overview of the subject, browse the books in call numbers R 724--R 726. A good place to start is the table of contents in Medical Ethics, by Gregory E. Pence (call number R 724 P36 2010). You can also browse the online journal Nursing Ethics.

The Basic ESL program improves listening, speaking, reading and writing skills through a simple-to-follow, instructionally proven curriculum. Learn English quickly and effectively on relevant topics, including family, home, school, and basic conversation.

If you know very little about your topic, use a general encyclopedia (World Book or Britannica). For more detailed information, use a specific subject encyclopedia, such as Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia, Gale Dictionary of Nursing and Allied Health, Dictionary of Scientific Biography, or the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology. Browse the open shelves in class Q, on the first floor. Ask the reference librarian if you want help.

PubMed is the national research online index for publications in medical-related science, including anatomy, physiology, bio- and pharmaceutical chemistry, and veterinary medicine. For a full-text article, look for the link by each citation. 

CSE is the standard documentation system for research and writing in the sciences. Nursing and allied health disciplines may use APA, which is similar to CSE's name-year system; chemistry may use ACE. Consult a style manual for details.

 

Visit the library for expert assistance at the reference desk.

Call the library, or send an email.

Contact your instructor.

Search the library's webpages for more help.

 

Loading

Format and Style for Research and Documented Essays

What else?

Movies? Browse in the LA Room.

Computers? Upstairs and downstairs. You can print from them with your Bengal ID.

Copying? The copy room is on the first floor, past the stairs on the right.

Magazines? They're in the circulation lobby.

Research and Documentation in the Age of Digitization--We Can Help

The 8th edition of the MLA Handbook is now in the library (call number LB 2369 G 53 2016). Tutorials are being updated. Please ask the librarians or your professors for more information.